Showing posts with label N Y Yankees. Show all posts
Showing posts with label N Y Yankees. Show all posts

Saturday, October 25, 2008

A Last Trip To The Old Stadium

I decided to go on an official tour of Yankee Stadium. It was really great! We first got to go to the press box and see the best view in the park. Then we went to Monument Park where I finally got to see all the monuments to Yankee greats.


Thursday, October 2, 2008

October 2

Today is my Mom's Birthday. I will be flying down to Miami today to wish her a Happy Birthday in person.

Today is the 30th anniversary of the Bucky Dent Home Run in Boston. Things sure have changed in the baseball world.

With the Yankees out of the playoffs this year my sentimental favorites for this post season are 1. Chicago Cubs, 2. Tampa Bay Rays and 3. Chicago White Sox. Hope that doesn't jinx them.

The big VP debate tonight. I expect Sarah Palin to do better than expected. I just hope people don't mistake someone having 90 good minutes for someone being qualified for the office of Vice President. If the American people were charmed into loving her once, they might be fooled again. (It's not just Americans who fall into the trap either) If she doesn't win the debate tonight, the GOP's ticket chances are over. It's a crucial night tonight and I hope that the truth shines through and superficiality takes a back seat.

Michael Bloomberg is set to announce that he will seek a third term. As I have already mentioned, I support this and still believe that term limits are a bad idea. We'll see what the voters of NYC have to say.

Well I'm off to the airport. Time to take off my shoes for no good reason and now the newest ritual - sitting on the tarmac prior to take off for an hour or more. Still, it is more relaxing than most of my days at work and I get to read and listen to my iPod all day. Yayy! Best of all, I get to go home for a couple days. I'm off.....

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

A Grand Farewell!


Sunday night was terrific. There was a festive, not sad, air in The Stadium. The weather was surreal in it's perfection. The afternoon was incredibly sunny and only slightly warm. In the evening some clouds formed in the distance giving stunning dimension to the orange and pink sky. And the night was a perfect 72 degrees with a calm and cool breeze flowing through the stands. The pregame ceremony was incredible with legends from years past there. The house was of course packed from 6pm to about midnight. People came early and stayed late.

I should probably write a long story about the whole day and night, but time does not allow. Suffice it to say that it was really a nearly perfect end to a great Stadium. It was nice to be able to spend it with my Yankee friends who have sat together for the past 3 years. The entire evening was picture perfect!
Speaking of picture perfect, Sarah took a ton of photos and you can see them here. She wrote the captions too! (If you click on the first photo on that page, you can get a little slideshow by just clicking NEXT to see the others in a larger format. Enjoy!) Thanks hon!

These are the seat we had. Empty now. Empty forever.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

A Long Goodbye


Ahhh. The weather is great, I got a full night's sleep (finally) and the Yankee festivities are about to begin. I'm not sad about the Stadium closing, at least not right now. I just feel so lucky and fortunate to have been able to see so many games there. That alone was such a thrill. Today, I actually get to walk on the field and visit monument park, which somehow I have managed to miss doing. It will be an all day affair at the ballpark. I will probably arrive about 2 and get home 10 or 11 hours later.

Classic moments at Yankee Stadium

Saturday, September 20, 2008

The Final Season, The Final Game

Sunday is the final game ever at Yankee Stadium. I just found out that it will be an all day fun fest. That's gonna be great!!! And, for once, there is no rain in the forecast. I sure am glad that I didn't sell my ticket and that I don't have to work AT ALL on Sunday.
If "The Stadium" could talk, THIS is how it would say good bye.
I don't like to blow smoke, but my death is unlike any loss seen before in America. I am tangible Americana, like Independence Hall, the Alamo or Graceland. I have been about more than baseball. The first papal mass ever celebrated in the Western Hemisphere? That was me. The first overtime game in NFL history? Me. The birthplace of the "DEE-fense! DEE-fense!" chant? Of the Bronx cheer? Of the triple-decker ballpark in this country? The electronic scoreboard, the replay video board, the "Win one for the Gipper" aphorism, what it means to get Wally Pipped, the standing applause on two-strike counts, the running leap onto home plate to punctuate a walk-off homer? Me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me and me.

Monday, July 7, 2008

A Great Night at the Stadium

For more years than I care to count, I have watched the New York Yankees on television - cheering them on as they played in "The House That Ruth Built". Last night I saw those Yanks beat the dreaded Red Sox in extra innings. It was a great night at the Stadium.

I have been to dozens of Yankee games now over the past three seasons and I always find myself stopping to pause and think how lucky I am to be able to do that. Sunday night though, the halfway point of the final season at the Stadium, an overwhelming feeling of nostalgia really took me over. As I crossed the Macomb Dams Bridge watching The Stadium grow closer with every step, I realized that this may be the last night game and the last game against the Red Sox that I would see at the original Yankee Stadium.

I hang out with a group of people at my regular seats: Sarah, Jason, Chris, Josh, Rich and others who are always there for the Sunday games. Last night, I walked over to The Stadium on my own as everyone else was running late. I go almost exclusively to afternoon games, so it was an unusual treat to stride toward Yankee Stadium in the twilight. I got there a half hour early which is about 60 minutes before I usually get there, thanks to those I know who are part of the 90% of people who just can't get anywhere on time. (Really, when did being punctual become extraordinary?).

As I took my seat before the game, I slowly scanned the stadium as if it was the first time - or maybe the last time - taking in every chair, every sign, all the field and even every light on the monstrous bank of floodlights that I have seen on television all my life. With no one around me engaging in pre-game banter, in the early evening darkness - it was nice to sit alone and drink in the atmosphere and think about how many Red Sox/Yankee Sunday night games I had watched on TV over the years, never dreaming I would get to see one in person.

It was a classic game, the lead going back and forth and electricity in the sold out stands at a fever pitch. As with any TV game, they do drag on because of all the commercial breaks, but I didn't mind at all. By the time the game moved into the 10th inning, all my friends who had arrived in the 2nd, had left to go home, understandable with them having to work on Monday. So I sat nearly alone during the 8th, 9th & 10th, taking in, once again, all the wonder of the evening and the joy of an extra inning victory for the Yankees.

In a way, I was a little bit disappointed that we won so quickly. If there was any time, I was ready, willing, able and WANTING to sit around for countless hours, it was last night. With tomorrow off and the feeling of nostalgia that had solidly set in me, I was willing to be the last guy in the stands watching the 22nd inning at 4 in the morning.

As I strolled back home around midnight, I could not wipe the grin from my face that had been there all evening. It was a good win for the Yankees and that made me happy. But, more that that, it was an early appreciation and a first good bye to a historic house that makes me feel like a little kid at Christmas every time I walk inside.

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

You're Out!

Two big New York baseball Stories:

Willie Randolph, the former Yankee player, has been fired as manager of the Mets. I like Willie so it is a bit sad. Everyone likes Willie. Willie is a likable guy and that was probably what doomed him. Randolph comes across as a mellow, easy going, introverted person. That's wonderful for many jobs, but not as baseball manager - especially in New York City. It was probably a good move to let him go because after their meltdown last year and slow start this year the Mets need a jolt to get back going. Willie Randolph is not a "jolt" kind of guy. Look for him to join Joe Torre in LA where they can sit, side by side, all droopy eyed and drowsy.

The other story really burns me. The Yankees starting pitcher Chien-Ming Wang was severely injured running the bases during an Inter league game and will miss up to 2 months. Now in the American League, where the Yankees play, a pitcher does not bat or run the bases - we use a pitch hitter. But the National League, where the Astros live and where the Yankees were playing, do have their pitchers hit. Because we were playing in their park, Major League Baseball says we have to play by their rules. What a waste. Admittedly, this is a convenient time for me to bring this up now and it's definitely closing the barn door after the horse has escaped, but MLB ought to consider using pinch hitters in Inter league games. It is really worth losing one of the leagues premiere players just for the novelty of seeing him hit? I don't think so.

Wednesday, April 2, 2008

Number 1!

The Yankees played, and won, the rescheduled first game of the year last night. I was at the official opening day Monday afternoon which was pretty much a wet and cold beer party. After working 37 out of the last 40 days it looks like I will actually get a couple days off this weekend. More baseball, beer and even a little sleep is just around the corner! Yayy!

Monday, March 31, 2008

Here, At Last


Today is the Final Opening Day at the historic Yankee Stadium. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. It's going to be a hectic day. I'm up early to head downtown to work by 8'o'clock. I'll be there for a few hours before jumping on a subway up to The Stadium. After all, or a least most of the game, I will retreat back to SoHo to finish up the day working until at least 9pm. A whirlwind and exhausting "only in New York" day. I can't wait!

Monday, October 29, 2007

Hater's Holiday

For all the Yankee Haters out there today is a wonderful day. All the BoSox Bandwagoners get to celebrate just like they did for the Marlins a few years back. The ARod and Yankee haters must be cheering the fact that he is leaving the team and all those who have abandoned the Dolphins can now root for their team of the year (Indy, Patriots anyone?) As for me I'll stick with my teams through thick and thin - cheer when my team wins and feel bad when they lose. Just call me old fashioned.

Thursday, October 18, 2007

End of the Torre

I can only repeat what I have been saying for five years. I love Joe Torre but it was time for him to go. The team needs a different leader. I can't wait to cheer his introduction into monument park at the new stadium in 2009. It will be even more enthusiastic than the warm greeting I'll give for whoever takes over for 2008. Of the leading candidates, I'd go with LaRussa as my first choice and Mattingly next. more

Tuesday, October 9, 2007

Top Five Reasons I'm Glad The Yankees Lost


It’s sad that the Yankees have been eliminated from the post season so quickly again, but no tears. It’s not like I didn’t see it coming. It’s been 7 years of disappointment so I have passed the fit throwing behavior that characterized so many other Yankee end of seasons. In fact I am going to try to look at the bright side of things and came up with this list of top 5 reasons why I'm glad the Yankees lost:

5.The refund from unused playoff and World series tickets can be used to pay the rent - for the next two months!
4.My nights are free - the baseball season is over!
3.I can blame it on George W. Bush - afterall we were winning all the time until he took office!
2.I can finally concentrate on those powerful Miami Dolphins!
1. Finally Joe’s going to go and the Yankees can have a fresh start next year!
Some very quick thoughts on what we should do for next year. I'll probably elaborate on a day off when I have more time. Joes' got to go - obviously. A-Rod has to stay - at any cost. The new manager should be Hispanic - they have had the most enthusiasm on the team the past 2 years. Giambi, Matsiu, Rivera and Clemens should be shipped off - get whatever young talent we can for them. (This is going to be controversial) We should LOOK INTO trading Jeter - I love the guy but where's the fire in his belly? If we keep him I'm fine with it - but if we could exchange him for someone of equal talent but superior enthusiasm, we should consider it. (Hey, I wanted to trade Marino after his 1st Super Bowl loss when he was young and valuable. I'm ruthless and see attitude almost as important as talent) more later?

Monday, October 8, 2007

Torre, Yanks Live On

We won last night to force a game 4 tonight. We still have to win tonight to force a deciding Game 5. I would love for Joe Torre to go out on top, winning this and the next two post season series'. Two consecutive victories are necessary to prevent a contrary scenario from unfolding.

Sunday, October 7, 2007

George Has it Right

Finally! After at least 5 years of mediocrity in the post season George Steinbrenner has publicly put Joe Torre on notice. While I think the world of Joe Torre as a man and all that he has done in the past - the day is near when we need to get someone in there who will add a spark to the team. Just as Don Shula and Bobby Bowden had their day and then faded away, so Torre's time has come and gone. He's still a Yankee legend and beloved by us all, but change is good. George agrees:

"His job is on the line," Steinbrenner told the Record. "I think we're paying him a lot of money. He's the highest-paid manager in baseball, so I don't think we'd take him back if we don't win this series."

Saturday, October 6, 2007

Hi Bob, Oh Mary, Bye Joe

Well, the Yankees are really in a hole now after losing last night. I was in the theater watching "Mary Poppins" during our meltdown and learned with everyone else during intermission that we had lost. (It was funny - as soon as the light came up, everyone turned on their PDA or called friends to get game updates) The Yanks have to win 3 in a row or it's another quick exit from the post season. I haven't looked at the highlights yet (don't watch them too much after a loss) so can't comment on the specifics of the game - but it was 1-0 Yanks when I left for Broadway and 2-1 Indians when the play hit intermission. For now I'll just blame Joe Torre and say it's time for Joe to Go.

The play was really great. "Mary Poppins" on stage is much better than the movie. The sets were amazing and the music spectacular. It was a full house and everyone - young and old - really loved it. If you ever come to NYC and want to see a play I recommend it - especially if you have kids.

The Bob Newhart event was the best of all. He is really a naturally funny guy and had the 75 people in the audience cracking up during the whole interview. When the Q&A session started I found myself at the mike again. Just as happened during past events I had the whole crowd cracking up when I walked up to the microphone.(God I love that!) I stepped up, and with the best comedic timing I could muster said "HI BOB". Bob, Ron and the audience all drank on cue and laughed hysterically, setting up my question about the"Hi Bob"drinking game. Newhart said he had heard about it some twenty years ago, thought it started at Southern Methodist University and no, had never played himself. I was going yell "a round of tequila for Bob" but figured it's always better quit while I am ahead in the comedy department and gave way to the next (yawn, boring) questioner. Another notable fact was that we sat next to Opie from Opie and Anthony Show. He's a nice guy who despite being a God in radioland, refused all the pandering to him before the show. The organizers wanted to move some people out of the front row for Opie and his (extremely attractive) companion to sit but he had no problem squeezing into the regular seats with us members of the unwashed masses. It was a fun afternoon and I gained a lot more appreciation for Bob Newhart. In fact I want to get his 1963 albums - which I learned were #1 and 2 on the chart simultaneously. Apparently, he was a rebel comic back in the day and I am eager to see what was cutting age around the year of my birth.

Thursday, September 27, 2007

13: That's the Lucky Number

The Yankees win! Last night the worlds best sports team made the post season for the 13th straight year thanks in large part t #13 Alex Rodriquez. Many doubted that we could come back after such a terrible start, but I remember 1978 and knew that if anyone could stage a comeback my Yankees could. The champagne was flowing, Joe Torre was crying and I got my playoff tickets - so all is good in the Yankee Universe today!

Tuesday, August 14, 2007

I remember hearing Phil Rizzuto broadcast Yankee games back in the 70's. His "Holy Cow" was always so comforting to hear. I remember his appearance on the Meat Loaf song, Paradise By the Dashboard Light. In fact, I remember him talking during a game about doing it the day before! See ya Scooter.

Thursday, August 9, 2007

Thursday Roundup

It's a new day and everything seems to be returning to normal in New York City. Yesterday turned out to be a pretty good day for me. By 2 I knew I wouldn't be making it to work so I decided to just enjoy the day off. Since I couldn't really go anywhere, I put myself under house arrest. I watched TV in the air conditioning, did some reading, took a nap but did not make a pot roast as I had planned (did not want to go to the store or stand over a hot stove for hours). Instead I made some pasta and a salad. I got plenty of rest and feel just great this morning. Everything turned out for the best. The New York Times has some great photos and stories from the meltdown yesterday - you can read and hear more here.

Barry Bonds hit his 756th home run on Tuesday night. I figured that since I was a kid and saw Hank Aaron hit 715 on television, I would try to catch the Bonds' home run live. I did. It was somewhat exciting and less disappointing than I thought. Yes, he used steroids and is a nasty sort of guy, but I'll give him his due today and then let it fade from memory. Alex Rodriguez seems next to challenge the record in 5 -10 years. I hope he does it in a Yankee uniform.

The Yankees got killed last night but overall they are making great progress in the race to the playoffs. They are only 1/2 game behind Detroit in the wild card race. The Tigers come to town next week and I eagerly await seeing some of that series.

The Miami Dolphins, like all other NFL teams, have opened their training camp. I know I'll be alone here rooting for the Dolphins but once again I am hoping for a return to greatness that we haven't seen in quite some time.

With the day off yesterday I got to see some of the trapped miners story. The spokesman for the company seems like a real oddball. At this point he seems to just be spinning the story to make him look good. If things turn out badly he's going to be the subject of some great ridicule and justified anger.

The Democratic debate at Solider Field in Chicago was interesting the other night. Barack looked good but Hillary seemed to strengthen her position as the most prepared. Overall, I'm not sure having debates outdoors at a football stadium is such a good idea. There was too much background noise like whistling and jeering. Very annoying. Don't look for the faint hearted Republican to try anything that unscripted.

Have a great day!!!!

Sunday, July 1, 2007

Something Stinks!

Oh. It's the Yankees. Went to the game today and we stunk up the place yet again. It's really a different mood at the Stadium these days. It's not ugly, like you might expect. Yes, there is plenty of booing and yelling but, for the most part, it's pretty tame. I find the mood to be almost more relaxed. I know it is for me. When the Yankees were doing so well in years past, there was always pressure to keep the lead over the Red Sox or get the best record for home field advantage. But now, it's just a day at the park watching a baseball game. There are slightly more empty seats - giving me the opportunity spread out a bit - and people seem to be talking to each other more in the stands. It's still a whole lot of fun. So while I wish the Yankees were doing better, going to the games is still my favorite thing to do in the city. Another interesting thing I have noticed since moving here and going to games.... I get LESS upset at the losses. I'm not sure why but while I yell a bit at the stadium when we mess up - it was SOOO much worse watching in on TV from Florida or Nevada. Maybe it's the fact that I'm at the stadium and having a good time, maybe it's that I now (literally) see them as mere mortals rather than superhumans on TV or maybe I'm just getting more mature and not acting like a little baby when the Yankees loose. I think it's probably one of the first two reasons though.